Hawthorn Lodge Reviews

We believe the excellent Hawthorn Lodge reviews written by our many guests capture the experience we offer at Hawthorn Lodge and reassure you that Hawthorn Lodge is a perfect place to stay as you tour Tasmania. All are copied as they appear in our visitors book and able for inspection when you stay with us.

Excellent reviews can also be seen on Trip Advisor, Booking.com, Google, Facebook and AirBnB. Please once you have stayed with us feel very free to review Hawthorn Lodge.

The words have written give an idea of the friendly excellent value country hospitality we strive to provide to be a leading Tasmania Bed and Breakfast. And the type of accommodation we provide which is in a historic farm house built in 1869. This does mean character and not modern functional style accommodation.

We are very pleased that guests have visited us from 61 countries and from all over Australia and all very much enjoyed their time with us at Hawthorn Lodge. As travellers ourselves we do strive to offer the hospitality we expect as we travel the world in our closed period (July & August).

Hawthorn Lodge Reviews written by guests

Hawthorn Lodge
“We have been spoilt rotten by David and Marie. Their Overland Transfer package made our walking experience easy and enjoyable, and the thought of returning have after a walk on the track was very appealing. The home grown and cooked meals were delicious and very welcoming. They have a wealth of knowledge and experience they are only too happy to share, making them wonderful hosts. Thank you very much for your hospitality. Not only will we recommend Hawthorn Lodge to others, but we will most certainly return ourselves.”  Brad, Alicia and Aamielle, April 12, 2017

“Thank you so much for this lovely stay. We felt right at home, everyone is really welcoming and the entire house is very comfy and cozy. We will definitely recommend it! We don’t really want to leave.” Berbare & Malin, April 10, 2017

“We have been spoilt rather our wonderful hosts Marie and David. We were so comfortable in an beautiful heritage bedroom, comply bed and sitting by the open fire was a hues away from home. Will be back as soon as possible!” April 9, 2017

“Thank you Marie  for a wonderful easy stay. You have a lovely cottage here and we will surely tell our friends about it”. Keith & Gay, Queensland, March 20, 2017

“Thank you for your hospitality and lovely comfortable bed. Wish we would have stayed longer-may be next time”. Ray & Vera, Glass House Mountains, Queensland, March 3, 2017

“Thank you for looking after us so well. A lovely night in peaceful farmhouse surroundings. Will recommend!”  Ross Wright, The Jetty House, South Port, February 2017

“Thank you for a lovely stay in this beautiful spot. Wonderful hospitality.” Click Jan Grifftng, Cambridge, UK, February 2017

“We had a very nice pleasant stay for two nights in the downstairs room. It was very comfortable. The meals were delicious and the hospitality was great. We will definitely recommend.” Naillo & Leorine, Masusllumbak, February 2017

“Thanks David and Marie for the most wonderful hospitality, food and comply bed, and for getting us to our hiking destination.” We will be back very soon. All without a hitch. Carein & Gareom Kerr, NSW, February 2017

“Had the best nights sleep, lovely breakfast and beautiful tea. Wish we were staying longer! Thank you for your hospitality.” Katherine & James Alexender, 24 February 2017

“Had a great stay clean, quiet, relaxed & friendly. Would recommend. Thanks for the lovely stay”. Any Legges, 24 February 2017

“Many thanks for your hospitality and advice about local place to see and eat. We enjoyed the place at night, the warm, comfortable bed and the lovely evening meal.”  Jim & Ken, 20 February 2017

“Thanks for the great stay Marie & David. I had a great night & sleep for a clean & very comfortable bed & lovely room. If I am ever back here I will definitely stay.” Tim Brown, 14 February 2017

“Thank you Marie & David for your wonderful hospitality, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, bed very comfortable, food yummy.” Jenny & Jeff Bowman, Ruth Den Cleve, 14 February 2017

“Serene,  relaxed, refreshing stay. Thank you  for sharing your home garden and produce. Just delightful.” 14 February 2017

“What a rare find! Fantastic hosts, great location with the most amazing house. We really loved it, and we will be back.” Sue & Ian, Newport, Sydney, February 2017

“Thank you Marie & David for the lovely stay! We definitely enjoyed it, even though it was only for a short two nights! Loved our room and the bed is so comfy I wouldn’t have moved if we didn’t need to catch our flight! Tama and Gourav, Wollongong & Melbourne, February 2017

“Thank you David and Merie! WE had a wonderful stay in your hotel. We will promote Hawthron Lodge”. Merry, Oegstgeest, Holland, February 2017

“Thank you for a lovely stay, comfy bed, beautiful house, great hospitality.” Gail & Reinhant Font, February

“A fine garden with  a find magnolia tree, and a wonderful accommodation. We were very comfortable after our days of walking.” Ray, Debouch & Eli Major, U.S.

“David you saved our bacon and gave us a wonderful dinner, evening and stay. Your hospitality – sensational. Thank you and we wish you and your wife every success at Hawthorn Lodge.” Pam January 2017.

“Thank you, Marie and David, for sharing the bounty of corner of the world with us. A true lovely stay and wonderful conversation. We hope our paths cross again. Our vest best.” Scott Fitzgerald, Drug Adanms, Seattle, WA, USA, 27 January, 2017

“Our first ever B&B experience! We really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful house with welcoming hosts. Our favorite host was the delicious homemade bread!” Emily & Josh, 25 January, 2017

“Thank you for a wonderful stay, beautiful surroundings, lovely accommodation, a friendly hosts will come a stay again.” Robert & Jenifars, 21 January 2017

“Thanks David and Marie everything place and advice.” Thi & Son, Brisbane, 18 January 2017

“Thank you so much Marie and David. We have had a beautiful time. Your hospitality is so very welcoming. Your food was delicious. We will be telling all our family and friends. Happy 2017.” Paul Tibbies and Cassandrce Marrison, NSW, 3 January 2017

“Thank you Marie and David for your hospitality. Hawthorn house is nice and we wish we were staying longer. The fresh produce is wonderful as the event meal. We loved the garden.” 31 December 2016

“It was lovely to stay in such a wonderful Georgian house with such beautiful gardens and very friendly chickens! The evening meals made from local produce were excellent and very priced. Hawthorn Lodge and Bushy park are like a tiny slice of Southern England. We will certainly we recommending Hawthorn Lodge to all our mainland friends.” Mike and Howard November 2016

“Just the place for a sea change for what the doctor ordered. Lovely to relax  and meet people who cab plan the needs of others. Thank you for your hospitality” Ken and Denise, November 2016

“Thanks that I could stay for 2 nights at this great place. I felt like home. And thanks also for the great dinner. I really appreciated it. David you are great cook and your homemade bread is wonderful. I hope to come back one day to this lovely place” Sabine, November 2016

” Thanks Marie and David for hosting me for a night of beautiful and comfortable stay here. Lovely and tasty dinner is the best I had in Tasmania so far. Good luck to the both of you and stay happy always” November 2016

” A really lovely colonial cottage and relaxing stay with all the home comforts and wonderful food, thank you so much” Susan and Jack, October 2016

“A wonderful old colonial experience accompanied by beautiful, natural, home cooked food makes Hawthorn Lodge a perfect place for a relaxing and peaceful stay – getaway, Many thanks” Jos October 2016

” A highly enjoyable stay in this unique property. We had a lovely tea and all you could want for breakfast. Thanks Marie” Heather, Mike and Gordon, October 2016

“It was lovely sleeping under a thick quilt, evening by the fire and David’s bread was the best way to start our two mornings”. Sam and Danee. May 2016

“What a haven – a real opportunity to savour a home baked dinner with garden fresh veges. Love the produce too. The historical links are also a treasure – thank you both Marie and David! We loved it all” Sue and Greg. May 2016

“Thank you for a wonderful stay. The room was lovely, dinner was very tasty & so was the bread. The perfect hosts welcoming and helpful” Bernard and Paul. May 2016

“Thank you so much David! We had a such a wonderful stay at Hawthorn Lodge! A lovely home with so many tips and info, it made the trip even more memorable. Wish we could stay longer. I hope to see you next time.” Lauren and Rod April 2016

“Thanks for being such a lovely host. A mine of information and advice, all worth following and much appreciated. Thanks” Ulla, April 2016

“What a delight is Hawthorn Cottage! Our room upstairs was lovely with a bed that ensured a delicious sleep. We loved the gardens and feeding apples to the sweet chestnut horse next door. The walk around Lake St Clair seeing the platypus at play was a highlight. Thank you David for being the perfect host and for the delicious curry after a cold day. The gardens, the berries, the little secret parts of the grounds and the bird life all added to our pleasure. We hope to return in other seasons.” Thanks David, April 2016 

” We have just loved our 4 nights down here – a special place with very special hosts. Marie and Dave are the perfect hosts and we’ve thoroughly enjoyed this lovely corner of Tassie. Many thanks and we’ll see you again” John and Jude, April 2016

“Thank you very much for the lovely stay! Great house and garden! Constance and Pascal “April 2016

“It is wonderful to stay at Hawthorn Lodge. The host is very kind and helpful. All the things here are very natural. I love it very much, and took many photos. Thanks Kris, April 2016

“Thank you very much for the lovely stay in your beautiful house! It was a welcome surprise for us on such a short notice. The breakfast was great, the best we had in the last 9 months of travelling with real bread and the fresh apple juice. Thank you!” Frank & Florence, Holland, February 2016

“We had a wonderful stay here and after camping for 2 weeks this was the perfect place to relax and recharge. Loved the beautiful gardens, delicious blackberries and comfy beds. Thank you Marie and David for being such welcoming hosts!” Annika and Griffin USA

” Thank you Marie and David for your excellent food (yum), nice comfy bed and pillow and most of all wandering in your beautiful garde. We enjoyed looking into our history and the fantastic walks.” Maree, March 2016 

“Thank you Marie and David for the warm welcome and hospitality in your home. Lovely comfy bed and great food meant a beautidul peaceful sleep. Best wishes for your future success.” Dawn and Dave March 2016

” We had a wonderful six days stay in a fabulous setting! Marie and David thank you for a being such welcoming hosts! We are really looking forward to coming back in the very near future! So many fabulous memories to take away with us, including David’s tasty homemade bread, the tastiest raspberries every seen, the warm inviting log fire to come home to and the conversations with you both! Thank you!” Simon & Angela, Australia, December 2015

“Thank you both for a wonderful stay. We love the place with the beautiful garden and home made bread. It was a pleasure to meet you both.” Job & Willemyn, Netherlands, December 2015

“Lovely Place, very friendly, Minto sucesso!” Michelle, Brazil, December 2015

“I love the place, very nice and I feel like with the family” Vimion, Israel, December 2015

“Great place to stay. We were very much welcomed and our room was clean and quiet and well-appointed. Marie and David were great hosts. The house is set in pleasant gardens and we got to help feed the chickens later. The area is pretty, and close by are some historic oast houses used for drying hops. We talk a short walk from the house to see them. We were able to take advantage of a meal offered that evening, and downed some good roast turkey and vegetables in the company of the hosts and other guests. This continued until bed time, with much chat and fun.”

Michael January 2016

Comments are closed.